Simple shortbread

Mr. D and I went to a barbeque over Labor Day weekend and when I asked what I could bring, I was told just my sparkling personality.  As soon as someone suggests that I sparkle, my mouth goes dry, I start to sweat and everything goes quiet.  Yep.

I get quiet.

On occasion.

But only when it’s suggested I sparkle.

I decided to bring something to keep everyone entertained until the sparkle came back.  I wanted to bring something sort of sophisticated, simple and delicious.  What else but shortbread?  I even jazzed sparkled it up with drizzled chocolate and chopped Heath bar.  Soooo yummy.

Simple Shortbread:

1 pound salted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

4 cups flour

Mix ingredients together. Place dough in 13×9 pan and press with your hands to flatten.  Bake at 325 degrees for about 35-40 minutes or until brown around the edges. Poke holes in the top with a fork to create a pattern and cut with a pizza cutter.  If you want to get creative, melt some semisweet chocolate chips and drizzle over the top.

Leave a Reply

