Good ideas and Bad ideas

I have good ideas and then I have really not so good ideas.

Good idea – hiring a cleaning lady.

Bad idea – firing the cleaning lady.  Really, anyone that can get a flashlight stuck in the hose of a 15 year old Hoover vacuum has to have some hercules-type ability, right?? That’s someone you should keep around.

Good idea – buying a Scrubbing Bubbles toilet wand.  My kids fight (seriously!) over who gets to clean the toilet and turn the water blue.

Bad idea – signing a year-long membership contract with the most expensive gym in town while four months pregnant because I was sure that THIS time I was going to work out.

Good idea – stopped trimming my own bangs.  My face doesn’t look so out of whack now.

Bad idea – giving my daughter a strawberry smoothie, in the car, not in a sippy cup.

Ok, this could go on for quite a while really so I’ll move on.  THIS is a good idea for me and your family will love you for doing it too.

Homemade Applesauce in the Crockpot.  It makes your house smell yummy and the kids LOVE it.  You’re a hero for doing not much (that’s my favorite part). Here you go:

Homemade Applesauce in the crockpot

12 cups sliced apples – any kind – peeled, not peeled, sorta peeled, it’s up to you.

1/2 cup sugar

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 cup water

1 tbsp lemon juice

Toss apples in the slow cooker.  Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon and stir. Pour in water and lemon juice. Cover. Cook on low 5-7 hours or high 2 1/2- 3 1/2 hours. Mash with a potato masher and ta-daa! Applesauce.  For an extra treat, warm it up and pour it over ice cream. (adapted from Fix-it and Forget-it cookbook)

One thought on “Good ideas and Bad ideas

Leave a Reply

