Bucket List

 

My daughter and I were in the kitchen yesterday, I was making dinner and she was cutting paper.  Not into any specific shapes or with any plan in mind, just cutting paper with her monkey scissors.  She said “Mommy, I have something to tell you….

…I don’t have anything on my bucket list.”

This really seemed to bother her five-year-old self.  I assured her that she still has time to create the bucket list and that it’s a work in progress.  Then I realized I don’t really have a bucket list.  Sure, I hear people talk about them all the time but I’ve never thought twice about it.  It’s funny too because I am a list maker.  I have lists for everything.  I have a to-do list, a travel-packing list, a menu-list for the week, a gift ideas for other people list and a list for things to clean when I’m done cleaning the regular stuff.  The latter was created years ago and frankly, I’m not sure I’ve ever crossed anything off the list.

I figure if I start to make a list, I’ll become overwhelmed with all the things I’ve just decided I need to accomplish before … you know.  So I got to thinking, do I have anything to put on a bucket list?

– I want to go to Tuscany and walk down a gravel path, surrounded by rolling hills with a loaf of bread, a bunch of tomatoes and a bottle of wine.  Like in the movie “Under the Tuscan Sun.”

– I want to find my waist again.  I lost it about 11 1/2 years ago when I had my son and haven’t seen it since.  It was replaced by a muffin top.  Most unattractive when you have company over and have to reach up to the highest shelf and it makes an appearance when your shirt creeps up.

– I want to go to New York and see a Broadway show with a well-known actor in the cast.  I don’t know why there has to be a well-known actor.  When I lived in Chicago I went and saw ‘Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat’ and Donny Osmond was the lead charactor.  They even worked in the “I’m a little bit Rock-n-Roll” line. If you know the play, you know that sentence totally doesn’t fit, which made it really funny.

– I want to grow a garden.  Successfully.  I tried to grow a garden once.  My husband framed out a square in the back yard with 2x4s and I planted lettuce, onions, tomatoes and cucumbers.  I used little white ‘T’ sticks to label each row.  It dried up and looked more like a hamster graveyard that a garden.

One thing I really wanted to do was remake my eyeballs on a fork.  A few years ago I made these…

COMPLETE disaster.  This was long before I discovered cake pops and Bakerella.  These were donut holes dipped in melted white chocolate which made them really heavy.  I used ready-made frosting in a tube and stuck a chocolate chip in it for the pupil.  They were so heavy that once decorated, I couldn’t move them because they kept falling off the fork.  This year I tried again with cake pops.

 

Ahhh, much better, don’t you think?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Bucket List

  1. Pingback: 10 spooky things I wish I had time to do this Halloween | Picnic for Tea

  2. Pingback: Mommy Shorts – If You Celebrated Halloween on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

